Coming Of Age


Graphic Designer





Dr. Martens





Tell us what you do for work. Was this something you’ve always wanted to pursue?
I’m a graphic designer currently in my first full-time job. I’ve always been the creative type since I was young, so I eventually pursued a diploma in Communication Design, and now here I am!

How has your design style changed since your time in school?
I majored in illustration back in school. I used to work with two dimensional characters a lot and I even did portraits on the side too. I’m now trying to explore other aspects of design, especially outside of work. For one, I’ve been designing band t-shirts just for fun.

How are you feeling now that you’re six months into your first job?
Actually, before I started this job, I completed two internships right after graduating from Polytechnic, and yet, there were many things that I wasn’t prepared for in this job.

That said, I also sometimes feel like I’m rushing too quickly into a career since I’m only 21. Most of my friends are either in university or are just taking things slow, so perhaps I should have taken a break before starting work instead of putting so much pressure on myself.

What else do you enjoy doing outside of work?
I’ve been really into music these past few years and I attend a concert or gig at least once a month. They’re a good way for me to have fun and let loose outside of work.

What’s one band you’re hoping to catch live?
I’m waiting for Paramore to come back to Singapore! They performed here in 2018, which was the year I took my ‘O’ Levels, so my mum didn’t allow me to attend no matter how much I begged. But I trust that they will make a return someday.

How would you describe your fashion style?
My mum says that I dress like a boy sometimes, but I don’t think I have a specific style. I just wear whatever I can find in my or my sister’s wardrobe—we don’t have the same taste, but we like to steal pieces from each other to complement our outfits (laughs).

Are you and your sister close?
My sister is five years older than me, and we used to butt heads a lot since we shared a room and didn’t have our own private space. Thankfully, we’ve become a lot closer now that we’ve moved and live in separate rooms.

One thing we bond over is my skin problems (laughs). Just last week, I had a bad eczema flare up and I woke her up in the middle of the night to help me with it. She gets annoyed, but I know I can always depend on her when I need help.

Previous Post
Next Post

Leave a Reply

What others are saying

There are no comments yet.