Assistant Project Manager







Dr. Martens









Tell us more about what you do for work.
I actually just graduated with a degree in Information Engineering and Media some time ago, and am now a few months into my first job out of university at DBS as an Assistant Project Manager.

I mainly work with data-heavy IoT projects in an employee-facing role. What this means is that we optimise office resources like meeting rooms and other facilities by ensuring the data coming in through the internet is accurate and correct.

What do your weekends or free time outside of work look like?
I enjoy football, and I used to play for a long time, but I had to take a bit of a break due to an injury, though I am slowly getting back into it now.

Apart from that, I enjoy drinking with my friends at bars with good vibes and music. I have a friend who doesn’t enjoy listening to, or doesn’t quite like the vibes of English music, so we’ve been going to this Tamil spot in the CBD pretty frequently. Otherwise, I enjoy going to Two Whiskey Bottles at Lentor. I’m a Northie, so it’s a lot closer for me.

What’s your drink of choice?
I’d love a mojito anytime, with a shitload of mint! Anything spicy or minty in general, really.

There’s this drink I had at Atlas that I remember loving, but it was a seasonal drink so I doubt I’ll ever get to have it again. I’m trying to recall the name of it, but I know it was a tequila-based drink and had a lot of nutmeg in it—it was just blended really well.

Would you ever try your hand at bartending then?
I would when I get my own place! I’d love to get my own supplies and kit to do so.

What is one thing that most people wouldn’t know about you?
Hmm, that’s very tough. Maybe it’s the fact that I have no idea what I want to do in the future, both in terms of work and relationships.

I’m currently in a state where I don’t feel the need to get married or have kids, and I’m not the kind of person to push for monetary returns. I’d much rather take things step by step, so I’ve decided that later this year, I’m going to move to Germany to complete my Masters, but really, it’s just an excuse for me to be in Europe.

That’s a valid reason anyway! Are you looking to study further your studies in Information Engineering?
I’m looking more towards human-computer interaction. This particular field looks at the psychology of how things should be made, which basically means software and technology that’s created with the user in mind. It answers questions like “How are people going to use this?” and “How easy would it be for them to use?”, or “How useful would it be to them?”.

Why Germany in particular? Have you been there before?
I mean, I have, but only for 40 minutes when I missed my connecting flight (laughs).

I guess why I chose Germany and Europe as a whole is because I feel like there’s a very big difference in the culture there versus here in Singapore. I don’t know if you feel it too as a Singaporean, but I’m a PR and I moved here when I was in Primary 1. Though I’ve been here a while, I feel like the culture here is very judgemental. You can be doing your own stuff, but as long as it doesn’t fit the criteria of what the general public thinks is the norm, then you’re going to be judged.

I spent five-ish months in Europe previously, and I did not feel judged at all. In fact, I felt a lot more free because the people there aren’t just chasing one thing (like money). So yeah, I just want to be more free, instead of being put inside this box.

Previous Post
Next Post

Leave a Reply

What others are saying

There are no comments yet.