Big Changes


Personal Assistant



Massimo Dutti








Monica Vinader


Monica Vinader

Can you tell us a bit about what you do for work?
I’ve been working as a personal assistant for the past two years. I was in retail before that for 15 years, but after COVID struck the industry, I decided to change to a different role.

I was quite worried when I started this new job, because it’s been a long time since I’ve worked in an office. But my employer and colleagues are very supportive and nice. They really cooperate with me and support me at work. This is really important to me, the people and the teamwork, and it’s why I don’t feel left out when I’m in the office.

Sometimes, I do miss the retail brand that I worked at, and the products that they sell (laughs). They had really nice products, and it was a very good brand. Every six months we would get an allowance to buy new clothes, so I miss that, because I didn’t really have to think about doing my own shopping in a way. Now, I have to do my own shopping and think about what I want to get, when I want to get it, and where I want to get it from.

What do you like to do in your free time?
I like to go walking or cycling. I live in the East, so usually I will cycle around the Changi Beach area, towards East Coast Park. I’ll also walk around my neighbourhood. or from my house to Pasir Ris Park or Changi Village.

Do you cook at home?
Oh, yes. I cook at home on the weekends. I cook a lot of Italian food. I also cook Malay food like nasi lemak or asam pedas. But I cook mostly simple dishes, like pasta, because my son likes to eat pasta.

My eldest son is married and he now lives with his family in Malaysia, so I usually only cook for my youngest son. I also have two stepdaughters who live in Australia. We haven’t seen them since COVID, and they haven’t managed to come back yet. Maybe we’ll gather as a family this Christmas.

Previous Post
Next Post

Leave a Reply

What others are saying

There are no comments yet.